Kristin Downer

Super Mom and Awesomely Nerdy Lady who can’t stand to sit still. I ran a successful online radio show that brought fans up close and personal with their favorite music, television and movie stars. Now, with my hilariously nerdy partners in crime, I have turned to my first love, BOOKS! A lover of books from a young age, I now always have a book on me no matter where I go. Books are my therapy. Twitter: @Kristin_Downer

BOOK REVIEW: The Better Liar by Tanen Jones

Title: The Better LiarAuthor: Tanen JonesPublication: January 14, 2020Publisher: Ballantine BooksGenre: Mystery/ThrillerPages: 307 SYNOPSIS (From Goodreads) When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Title: The Silent PatientAuthor: Alex MichaelidesPublication: February 5, 2019Publisher: Celadon BooksGenre: Psychological Thriller/MysteryPages: 297 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

Title: The Girls with No NamesAuthor: Serena BurdickPublication: January 7, 2020Publisher: Park RowGenre: Historical FictionPages: 336 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Not far from Luella and Effie Tildon’s large family mansion in Inwood looms the House of Mercy, a work house for wayward girls. The sisters grow up under its shadow with …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Pretenders by Rebecca Hanover

Title: The PretendersAuthor: Rebecca HanoverPublication: December 10, 2019Publisher: Sourcebooks FireGenre: Teens, YA Fiction, Mystery/ThrillerPages: 416 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) In this conclusion to The Similars duology, Emma must figure out who she really is, decide between two boys with the same face, and stop a dangerous plan based on revenge. Emma …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: Good Girls Lie J.T. Ellison

Title: Good Girls LieAuthor: J.T. EllisonPublication: December 30, 2017Publisher: HarlequinGenre: Mystery/ThrillerPages: 464 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Goode girls don’t lie… Perched atop a hill in the tiny town of Marchburg, Virginia, The Goode School is a prestigious prep school known as a Silent Ivy. The boarding school of choice for daughters …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: Scared Little Rabbits by A.V. Geiger

Title: Scared Little RabbitsAuthor: A.V. GeigerPublication: December 3, 2019Publisher: Sourcebooks FireGenre: YA Fiction, Mystery Thriller, RomancePages: 368 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) We stand in a tight cluster, high above the lake. One-by-one, we made our way up the narrow trail from the edge of campus. Now, we wait shoulder to shoulder …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Last Affair by Margot Hunt

Title: The Last AffairAuthor: Margot HuntPublication: November 26, 2019Publisher: HarlequinGenre:Domestic ThrillerPages: 336 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Love may be blind, but obsession’s a real killer. Nora Holliday is not that kind of woman. Not the kind who has an illicit affair with a married man. But Josh Landon is everything Nora’s …

Read More »

MOVIE REVIEW: Last Christmas

I am a sucker for Christmas movies and when said Christmas movie includes Emilia Clarke and Henry Golding, I was totally in to go see it. Emilia Clarke is one of my favorite actresses for good reason. She can play almost any type of role, but I personally love when …

Read More »