Kristin Downer

Super Mom and Awesomely Nerdy Lady who can’t stand to sit still. Delving into the online world I ran a successful online radio channel and blog that brought fans up close and personal with their favourite music, television and movie stars. Now, with my hilariously nerdy partners in crime, we are hiding our nerdyness no more! Twitter: @Kristin_Downer

BOOK REVIEW: Unfollow Me Charlotte Duckworth

Title: Unfollow MeAuthor: Charlotte DuckworthPublication: March, 110, 2020Publisher:  Crooked Lane BooksGenre: Mystery/Thriller/SuspensePages: 288 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) You Can’t Stop Watching Her. Violet Young is a hugely popular journalist-turned-mummy-vlogger, with three young children, a successful husband and a million subscribers on YouTube who tune in daily to watch her everyday life …

Read More »

BOOK TO TV COMPARISON: The Handmaid’s Tale

I have a confession. I watched the show before reading the book. I had never even heard of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood before the show hit Hulu a few years back. So years later I decided it was time to read it and compare it to the show. …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: Perfect Kill by Helen Fields

Title: Perfect KillAuthor: Helen FieldsPublication: February 6, 2020Publisher:  AvonGenre: Thriller, Suspense, MysteryPages: 416 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying. Alone, trapped in the darkness and with no way out, Bart Campbell knows that his chances of being found alive are slim. Drugged and …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: What Kind of Girl by Alyssa Sheinmel

Title: What Kind of GirlAuthor: Alyssa SheinmelPublication: February 4, 2020Publisher: Sourcebooks FireGenre: Teen, YA FictionPages: 384 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides. It all started when Mike Parker’s girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: When You See Me by Lisa Gardner

Title: When You See MeAuthor: Lisa GardnerPublication: January 28, 2020Publisher: DuttonGenre: Mystery, Thriller, SuspensePages: 397 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) FBI Special Agent Kimberly Quincy and Sergeant Detective DD Warren have built a task force to follow the digital bread crumbs left behind by deceased serial kidnapper Jacob Ness. And when a …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Better Liar by Tanen Jones

Title: The Better LiarAuthor: Tanen JonesPublication: January 14, 2020Publisher: Ballantine BooksGenre: Mystery/ThrillerPages: 307 SYNOPSIS (From Goodreads) When a woman conceals her sister’s death to claim their joint inheritance, her deception exposes a web of dangerous secrets in this addictive new thriller for fans of Megan Abbott, Gillian Flynn, and Paula …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Title: The Silent PatientAuthor: Alex MichaelidesPublication: February 5, 2019Publisher: Celadon BooksGenre: Psychological Thriller/MysteryPages: 297 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Alicia Berenson’s life is seemingly perfect. A famous painter married to an in-demand fashion photographer, she lives in a grand house with big windows overlooking a park in one of London’s most desirable …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

Title: The Girls with No NamesAuthor: Serena BurdickPublication: January 7, 2020Publisher: Park RowGenre: Historical FictionPages: 336 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) Not far from Luella and Effie Tildon’s large family mansion in Inwood looms the House of Mercy, a work house for wayward girls. The sisters grow up under its shadow with …

Read More »

BOOK REVIEW: The Pretenders by Rebecca Hanover

Title: The PretendersAuthor: Rebecca HanoverPublication: December 10, 2019Publisher: Sourcebooks FireGenre: Teens, YA Fiction, Mystery/ThrillerPages: 416 SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads) In this conclusion to The Similars duology, Emma must figure out who she really is, decide between two boys with the same face, and stop a dangerous plan based on revenge. Emma …

Read More »