Home / Blog / BOOK REVIEW: “Just Fall” by Nina Sadowsky

BOOK REVIEW: “Just Fall” by Nina Sadowsky

Title: Just Fall
Author: Nina Sadowsky
Publication: March 22, 2016
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Genre: Thriller and Suspense
Pages: 304

 
Just Fall

 

SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads)

Balanced on the razor edge of moral ambiguity, this sexy and seductive debut novel asks: How can you find out that the person you love is a killer…and continue to love him anyway? Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Sandra Brown, and Erica Spindler.

On the night of her wedding to Rob, Ellie’s perfect world suddenly collapses. Her suave, charming, sophisticated husband is not the man she believed him to be. Could he really be a killer?

Ellie is rapidly swept into a lethal vortex of betrayal, lies, and uncertainty: Who is the man she married, really?

And how far will she go to protect him?

From Manhattan to the Caribbean, Rob and Ellie struggle to escape the grip of Rob’s former life – a life his employers are determined to ensnare him in for good.

When faced with a terrible choice—to become a murderess herself to save the man she loves, or to let him die—Ellie’s decision propels her into a whiplash-paced adventure, filled with cinematic twists and a startling sense of unease.

 
REVIEW:

**A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

Is love enough when you find out someone is a murderer? That is the basic description I read before picking up this book. I was instantly intrigued and had to see where this book was going to take me. Never having read Nina Sadowsky, I had no clue what to expect from her writing either.

“Just Fall” basically follows Elli’s life as she finds out horrible secrets about her husband. We watch as she makes a series of questionable decisions whether to follow him or walk away. I did like how this story makes you question whether you would do similar things if put in the same situation. Would you be able to look your significant other in the face if you found out they lied to you? Did something reprehensible? Asked you to do something completely against your moral code? If your life was at risk? These are all question Sadowsky makes you think as a reader. At least they made me think. Unfortunately while the book had me thinking and questioning Ellie’s motives, I was highly disgruntled by the way in which the story flowed. The story is set up to jump between ‘Then’ and ‘Now’, but it doesn’t just jump back and forth in order. The ‘Now’ goes in chronological order, but the ‘Then’ jumps around. One flashback is from 6-months ago. The next is from a year ago. Then a week ago, five years ago, 8-months ago, and so forth. It was incredibly hard to continue to arrange all the information in my head and keep the story in line while I continued. While I found the story line interesting, this hindered me from wanting to read. I wanted to know how it ended, but it was almost too complicated.

I also found moments where it almost seemed too much. Too much unbelievable stuff happening. I know there are people who go years without being caught, but some of the stuff that happens in this story was a bit hard to wrap my head around. However, if I was to put all the little parts of the story into alignment now that I have finished the book, it is a great story. It has a good concept behind it and gets the reader thinking and invested in the story. There are multiple events happening that all end up tying together in the end and I liked how we got to see how complete strangers can be brought together in tragedy, fear, and love. So while I was unhappy with the jumping around and a few over the top details, I give credit to Sadowsky for weaving some great lessons and intrigue into her story. I’ve had many authors that can deliver a great story, but no real lesson to the reader or a great lesson, but poorly delivered. Sadowsky was able to do both well. Her writing is good. The characters were developed, just choppily throughout the jumping around, and overall the story was a good one. I would just wish for a smoother flow and easier flowing transitions.

Solid three stars. I’ll definitely check out her next book.

 
Please pick up a copy of “Just Fall” and come to your own conclusion of the book! It is available on:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Other sites available through Sadowsky’s main website!

Also make sure to add it to your To Reads list on Goodreads and leave feedback for the author when you are finished. You can also check author Nina Sadowsky out online at her website and follow her on Twitter @sadowsky_nina!

About Kristin Downer

Super Mom and Awesomely Nerdy Lady who can’t stand to sit still. Delving into the online world I ran a successful online radio channel and blog that brought fans up close and personal with their favourite music, television and movie stars. Now, with my hilariously nerdy partners in crime, we are hiding our nerdyness no more! Twitter: @Kristin_Downer

Check Also

BOOK REVIEW: See You in the Piazza by Frances Mayes

Title: See You in the PiazzaAuthor: Frances MayesPublication: March 12, 2019Publisher: CrownGenre: Tour GuidesPages: 448 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *