Home / Blog / BOOK REVIEW: “Seeker” by Arwen Elys Dayton

BOOK REVIEW: “Seeker” by Arwen Elys Dayton

Title: Seeker
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Publication: February 10, 2015
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers – Random House
Source: Netgalley
Genre Category: YA/Teen Fiction, Literature/Fiction (Adult)

 

Seeker

 


SYNOPSIS (From Goodreads):
Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin’s new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her.

 

Review:
Being said to appeal to readers of ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Divergent’, two series that are extremely loved across the globe, is a high standard to set. Random House and Delacorte books decided to set it. ‘Seeker’ by Arwyn Elys Dayton is action packed, suspenseful, and heart wrenching all at the same time.

‘Seeker’ follows the story of Quin as she discovers what her future for what it really is compared to what she thought it would be. And, as in any good story, just as she thought she had escaped it her past comes back to find her. Dayton created a leading lady who allowed us to relate to her. She had feelings and questioned things she was taught. She tried to stand up for herself, but was knocked down at times. These are situations we have all been in before. The other leading and supporting characters in this story are wonderfully developed and you understand them to a point, while the rest remains a mystery. As the story progresses you learn more and more about their characters and how they adapt to their situations and who those situations make them become.

This story is definitely one that will draw in the readers of such series as ‘The Hunger Games’, ‘Divergent’, and even readers of more male variety readings. While there is a love triangle involved, it does not become the central focus of the story, but more an underlying story line. In no way does it overtake the story, but adds to it. The dynamics of ‘Seeker’ are so intertwining that you cannot help but wonder what is happening next. And the ending leaves you believing that there is definitely another book in the works. My only warning to readers is that the story jumps around in time a bit, giving you flashbacks, but can take a moment to process where you are when a chapter starts. Otherwise, this book is almost perfect.

A fantastic job was done by Arwen Elys Dayton in creating characters and a book we could love and follow through an adventure far more exciting than our every day lives… and a little more dangerous! Every person from every walk of life could love this book for at least one aspect, whether you love romance, action, drama, or adventure, and I cannot wait to see how it does on shelves.

Speaking of… make sure to pick the book up at Amazon when it releases on February 10th and add it to your TO READ list on Goodreads. Also make sure to check out Dayton’s website for more information and to follow her in her writing career.

Four out of five stars definitely earned.

About Kristin Downer

Super Mom and Awesomely Nerdy Lady who can’t stand to sit still. Delving into the online world I ran a successful online radio channel and blog that brought fans up close and personal with their favourite music, television and movie stars. Now, with my hilariously nerdy partners in crime, we are hiding our nerdyness no more! Twitter: @Kristin_Downer

Check Also

BOOK REVIEW: Saving Everest by Sky Chase

Title: Saving EverestAuthor: Sky ChasePublication: October 22, 2019Publisher: Wattpad BooksGenre: Teen, YA FictionPages: 360 SYNOPSIS: …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *