Home / Blog / BOOK REVIEW: The Perfect Liar by Thomas Christopher Greene

BOOK REVIEW: The Perfect Liar by Thomas Christopher Greene

Title: The Perfect Liar
Author: Thomas Christopher Greene
Publication: January 15, 2019
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
Pages: 288

SYNOPSIS: (From Goodreads)

A seemingly perfect marriage is threatened by the deadly secrets husband and wife keep from each other, for fans of B.A. Paris and Paula Hawkins.

Susannah, a young widow and single mother, has remarried well: to Max, a charismatic artist and popular speaker whose career took her and her fifteen-year-old son out of New York City and to a quiet Vermont university town. Strong-willed and attractive, Susannah expects that her life is perfectly in place again. Then one quiet morning she finds a note on her door: I KNOW WHO YOU ARE. 

Max dismisses the note as a prank. But days after a neighborhood couple comes to dinner, the husband mysteriously dies in a tragic accident while on a run with Max. Soon thereafter, a second note appears on their door: DID YOU GET AWAY WITH IT?

Both Susannah and Max are keeping secrets from the world and from each other —secrets that could destroy their family and everything they have built. The Perfect Liar is a thrilling novel told through the alternating perspectives of Susannah and Max with a shocking climax that no one will expect, from the bestselling author of The Headmaster’s Wife.

REVIEW:

**A copy of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**

The Perfect Liar is the pretzel of twists and turns at every single corner. Thomas Christopher Greene sure knows how to shock you just as you think all the secrets have been brought to light.

The Perfect Liar follows Susannah and Max, a happily married couple. Susannah’s son from her previous marriage lives with them. Their lives seem great. Susannah spends her days working out and taking care of the household as Max teaches at his fancy job at the University and travels around doing speeches on his love… Art. But is it? Turns out Max has some secrets about who he is and Susannah is definitely no saint. And now someone else knows one of their secrets and is leaving weird notes on the door. CREEPY!

This book kept me intrigued with all the different twists and turns and pop-up backstories that showed the not-so-innocent side of Susannah and Max. Greene gave just the right level of information to make these characters thoroughly terrifying, yet appear as if they were the perfect family next door. My only issue with The Perfect Liar was the amount of things these two got away with. I know there are criminals out there that get away with crime after crime and never get caught, but there was almost a lack of realism at times that left me slightly annoyed. But all in all, Greene did a good job of tying the story together into a smoothly, and intricately flowing story that had you shocked until the very last page. You will definitely be saying, “These people are crazy!”

I will definitely be checking out more from Thomas Christopher Greene going forward. A psychological thriller such as The Perfect Liar is good for anyone who loves the twisty stories. Constant drama and excitement in mass proportions.

STAR RATING 4/5

You can get your copy of The Perfect Liar on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or your nearest bookstore. Also make sure to add it to your To Reads list on Goodreads and leave feedback for the author when you are finished. You can check out more from author Thomas Christopher Greene on his website HERE.

About Kristin Downer

Super Mom and Awesomely Nerdy Lady who can’t stand to sit still. Delving into the online world I ran a successful online radio channel and blog that brought fans up close and personal with their favourite music, television and movie stars. Now, with my hilariously nerdy partners in crime, we are hiding our nerdyness no more! Twitter: @Kristin_Downer

Check Also

BOOK REVIEW: The Arrangement by Robyn Harding

Title: The ArrangementAuthor: Robyn HardingPublication: July 30, 2019Publisher: Simon & SchusterGenre: ThrillerPages: 352 SYNOPSIS: (From …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *